Things you should know about the Second Round of the US Open Cup

Posted by | May 17, 2016

El-Paso-PatriotsIn 2002, no team below the 2nd Division advanced past the Second Round.

The Modern Era (1995-present) record for single-game attendance is held by FC Cincinnati when they had an announced attendance of 12,790 at Nippert Stadium (University of Cincinnati) when they defeated AFC Cleveland (NPSL) 1-0 in extra time on May 17, 2017. The record for average attendance in the Second Round is 3,019 (16 games) from the 2001 tournament.

The El Paso Patriots recorded the biggest rout in the Second Round since 1995, defeating the Arizona Sahuaros 9-1 in 1998. Kirk Wilson scored three times to lead the Patriots. Matching the eight-goal margin, the most lopsided shutout came in 2001 when DC United of MLS trampled the New Jersey Stallions of the D3 Pro League 8-0.

From 1996-2013, only three USASA clubs advanced to the Third Round. Bavarian SC defeated the Reading Rage (Professional 3rd Division) 1-0 in the Second Round of 2003. Dallas Roma FC became the first USASA team to defeat a 2nd Division team when they eliminated Miami FC 1-0 in 2006. Cal FC traveled across the country and upset the Wilmington Hammerheads of USL Pro 4-0 to reach Round 3 in 2013. However, in 2014, that mark was blown out of the water, as a record FIVE USASA teams reached the Third Round: New York Greek American Atlas (Region I), RWB Adria (Region II), North Texas Rayados (Region III), Des Moines Menace (Region II), and PSA Elite (Region IV) who advanced after the San Diego Flash forfeited. The reason for this increase was due, in large part, to the change in format which saw an increase to 80 teams, and an abbreviated opening round (8 games). Of this group, only RWB Adria and PSA Elite began in the First Round, so the rest of the teams only had to win one game.

Open Division teams winning Second Round games doesn’t happen often, but it’s not unheard of during the Modern Era (1995-present). 37 PDL teams have made it to the Third Round in the Modern Era. The Michigan Bucks have done it more than anyone else, advancing to Round 3 five times. 16 Open Division amateur teams have reached the Third Round while only four NPSL teams (two different clubs) have reached that far: Brooklyn Italians (2014), Chattanooga FC (2014, 2015, 2016)

The US Soccer Federation increased the number of teams to 80 in 2014, creating the largest second round in the Modern Era (and quite possibly of all time) with 24 games on the schedule. One of the games was forfeited, and one was moved to May 13, leaving a record 22 games to be played on May 14. That record was broken as the tournament continued to expand in 2017 when there were 26 games played.

In 2013, a record four amateur clubs advanced to Round 3. The following year, due to a change in format and an increase in amateur entries, 12 amateur clubs reached the Third Round.

1997: Central Coast Roadrunners
1999: Mid-Michigan Bucks
2000: Mid-Michigan Bucks, Chicago Sockers
2001: Seattle Sounders Select
2003: Mid-Michigan Bucks, Fresno Fuego
2004: Chicago Fire Reserves, Cape Cod Crusaders, Boulder Rapids Reserves, Carolina Dynamo
2005: Ocean City Barons, Des Moines Menace
2006: Michigan Bucks, Des Moines Menace, Carolina Dynamo
2009: Ocean City Barons
2011: Chicago Fire PDL, Kitsap Pumas
2012: Michigan Bucks, Ventura County Fusion,
2013: Des Moines Menace, FC Tucson, Ocean City Nor’easters, Reading United AC
2014: Reading United AC, New York Greek American Atlas SC, RWB Adria, Orlando City U23s, Brooklyn Italians, Laredo Heat, North Texas Rayados, Fresno Fuego, PSA Elite, Baltimore Bohemians, Chattanooga FC, Des Moines Menace
2015: Chattanooga FC, Chula Vista FC, Jersey Express, PSA Elite, Ventura County Fusion
2016: Chattanooga FC, Des Moines Menace, Jersey Express, Kitsap Pumas, La Maquina, Lansdowne Bhoys FC, Los Angeles Wolves FC
2017: Chicago FC United, Christos FC, GPS Omens, Los Angeles Wolves FC, Michigan Bucks, Reading United AC