2010 US Open Cup First Round: Sahuaros knock out defending PDL champions in PK shootout

Posted by | June 18, 2010

The Arizona Sahuaros remain the only NPSL team in the Lamar Hunt US Open Cup, advancing over the 2009 PDL Champions Ventura County Fusion 4-2 on penalties after finishing extra time tied 1-1.

Nick DeLeon opened the scoring for Arizona Sahuaros in the 29th minute.  Ventura County Fusion would level in the 60th minute as Ousman Jagne buried the ball in the back of the net with a superb scissor kick beating Arizona keeper Brady Swenby.

The match ended 1-1 at the end of regular time, and an additional 30 minutes could not decide a winner as both teams had chances to bring home the victory in the added stanza.  The Sahuaros had a chance with less than a minute remaining in the second extra time but were thwarted by Bryan Hill in the Fusion net.

With the final score 1-1, the match would be decided in penalty kicks.  Swenby stopped the first and fourth penalty takers and Arizona converted their first four attempts as they advance into the second round 4-2 on penalty kicks.

Arizona Saharos travel to Austin, Texas on June 22 for a match against Austin Aztex of USSF-D2 with a 7:30 p.m. CT kickoff.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.