2007 Semifinals: Noonan’s OT goal puts 10-man Revolution past 9-man RailHawks

Posted by | September 4, 2007
Former teammates Connally Edozien of Carolina and New England's Shalrie Joseph were sent off after this near-fight late in the first half. 8 yellows and 3 reds were shown that night. Photo: Tony Biscaia | RevsNet.com
Former teammates Connally Edozien of Carolina and New England’s Shalrie Joseph were sent off after this near-fight late in the first half. 8 yellows and 3 reds were shown that night. Photo: Tony Biscaia | RevsNet.com

Pat Noonan’s goal in the fourth minute of extra time was enough to earn the New England Revolution their second trip to the US Open Cup final with a 2-1 win over the Carolina RailHawks.  The visitors struck first in the 6th minute when Anthony Maher scored on a pass from Johnny Steele. New England would equalize in first-half stoppage time, as Jeff Larentowicz tallied on a diving header on an assist from Noonan.

Prior to the Revs equalizer, Carolina’s Connolly Edozien and New England’s Shalrie Joseph were both sent off when a fight nearly broke out between the two teams. Reckless and unpunished fouls on both sides peaked after a foul committed by Avery John on Carolina’s Johnny Steele, led to some pushing and shoving that escalated and saw the two former teammates ejected in the 42nd minute.

The game was marred with eight yellow cards and after Carolina defender David Stokes was sent off in the 80th minute, that brought the red card total to three.

Noonan would prove to be the hero for New England, scoring the game-winner four minutes into extra time on an assist from rookie Adam Cristman.

Despite playing a man down for the last ten minutes of regulation and through all 30 minutes of extra time, the RailHawks continued to hang on and nearly equalized on a frantic corner kick play in the dying seconds of the match. Chad Dombrowski’s header on goal forced Revolution goalkeeper Matt Reis to dive to his left to make the save, and to send New England to the championship game for the first time since they lost the 2001 title game to the Los Angeles Galaxy.

The Revolution will aim for their first trophy in team history when they face FC Dallas in the Open Cup Final. The match will be played October 3rd at Pizza Hut Park in Frisco, TX.

CAR – Anthony Maher (Jonny Steele) 6
NE – Jeff Larentowicz (Pat Noonan) 48+
NE – Pat Noonan (Adam Cristman) 93

CAROLINA RAILHAWKS: Chris McClellan, Caleb Norkus (Kevin Jeffrey 106), Frankie SanFilippo ©, David Stokes, Chad Dombrowski, Kupano Low, Stuart Brightwell (McColm Cephas 106), Jonny Steele, Philip Long (Joey Worthen 61), Connally Edozian, Anthony Maher (Joel Bailey 74)
Substitutes Not Used: John O’Hara, Matt Maher

NEW ENGLAND REVOLUTION: Matt Reis, Avery John (Sainey Nyassi 91), Michael Parkhurst, James Riley, Khano Smith, Shalrie Joseph, Jeff Larentowicz, Steve Ralston, Andy Dorman, Adam Cristman, Pat Noonan (Chris Loftus 106)
Substitutes Not Used: Doug Warren, Amaechi Igwe, Gary Flood, Kyle Helton, Bryan Byrne

CAR – Anthony Maher (caution) 21
CAR – David Stokes (caution) 41
NE – Avery John (caution) 41
CAR – Connally Edozien (ejection) 42
NE – Shalrie Joseph (ejection) 42
CAR – Kupano Low (caution) 55
NE – Jeff Larentowicz (caution) 73
CAR – David Stokes (ejection) 80
NE – Adam Cristman (caution) 88
CAR – Joel Bailey (caution) 106
CAR – Chad Dombrowski (caution) 110

MATCH STATISTICS             CAR        NE
Shots                                               8            18
Shots on Goal                               2             7
Saves                                               5             2
Fouls                                             17           20
Corners                                          5             8
Offsides                                         11            6           

Referee: Shane Moody
Referee’s Assistant (SAR): Claudio Badea
Referee’s Assistant (JAR): Victor Matheson
Fourth Official: Gus St. Silva

Weather: Clear and 78 degrees
Time of Game: 2:32
Attendance: 4,203

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.