2016 US Open Cup Final will have late kickoff on Sept. 13, will air on ESPN2, Univision Deportes

Posted by | August 19, 2016
A statue of the late Lamar Hunt on display outside of FC Dallas' Toyota Stadium in Frisco, TX. Photo: FC Dallas

A statue of the late Lamar Hunt on display outside of FC Dallas’ Toyota Stadium in Frisco, TX. Photo: FC Dallas

The Lamar Hunt US Open Cup has returned to the ESPN family of networks. The United States Soccer Federation announced the broadcast details, as well as the date and time for the 2016 US Open Cup Final on Friday morning.

The 103rd championship game between FC Dallas and the New England Revolution will take place on Tuesday, Sept. 13 at Toyota Stadium in Frisco, Texas. The match will be broadcast live on ESPN2 and the Univision Deportes Network.

Kickoff is scheduled for 10 p.m. ET / 9 p.m. CT. A source tells TheCup.us, the late kickoff was a decision made by the network and not the teams.

This marks just the fourth time that the state of Texas has hosted a US Open Cup Final. The 1983 Final saw the New York Pancyprian Freedoms win its second straight title over Kutis SC in Houston. On a hot day in August in 1995, the El Paso Patriots were upset in front of their home crowd by amateur side Richmond Kickers of the USISL Premier. The last time the Open Cup Final was in the Lone Star State was when the New England Revolution beat FC Dallas 3-2 at Toyota Stadium in 2007.

This will be the third time that the Final will be broadcast live on an ESPN network. The first time came in 1999 when the Rochester Raging Rhinos of the A-League beat the Colorado Rapids on ESPN2. It would take until 2015 for the title game to return to ESPN2 when Sporting Kansas City edged the Philadelphia Union in penalty kicks last year.

Championship Match Broadcast Networks
(Modern Era, 1995-present)

2016 – ESPN2 / Univision Deportes
2015 – ESPN2 / Univision Deportes
2014 – GolTV
2013 – GolTV
2012 – GolTV
2011 – Fox Soccer Channel
2010 – Fox Soccer Channel
2009 – Fox Soccer Channel
2008 – Fox Soccer Channel
2007 – Fox Soccer Channel
2006 – Fox Soccer Channel
2005 – GolTV
2004 – GolTV
2003 – Fox Sports World
2002 – Fox Sports World
2001 – Fox Sports World
2000 – Fox Sports World
1999 – ESPN2
1998 – Fox Sports Net
1997 – Fox Sports Net
1996 – No broadcast
1995 – Prime network

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.