GolTV to air next three US Open Cup Finals, including two historic matches

  • 0
  • August 1, 2012

Exactly one week before the 2012 Lamar Hunt US Open Cup championship match between host Sporting Kansas City and the history-seeking three-time champion Seattle Sounders, GolTV cable network has announced that it has reached a three-year deal with the United States Soccer Federation to broadcast the tournament final.

The deal makes GolTV the home to what could be two historic championships as the Sounders attempt to become the first club to win the event four consecutive times next Wednesday, August 8 at LIVESTRONG Sporting Park (9:00 pm ET). Next year’s event will be the 100th edition of the nation’s oldest national soccer tournament.

The multi-year deal brings the tournament championship back to GolTV for the first time since 2005, marking an end to a six-year run with Fox Soccer. GolTV previously carried the final in 2004 and 2005, coincidentally the only other time Kansas City has been in the final (2004).

The family of Fox networks have been the primary home of the championship match over the years, airing 12 of 17 modern pro era finals. Fox Soccer Channel also carried the final from 2000-03 when the network was previously known as Fox Sports World. Fox Sports Net carried the 1997 and 1998 championships. In 1999, ESPN2 carried the historic final that saw the Rochester Rhinos claim the only title by a lower division club during MLS existence. The 1995 final was shown on Prime Network. The carrier of the 1996 final is unknown at this time.

“Acquiring the broadcast rights to the final of the U.S. Open Cup through 2014 is an important milestone for GolTV as we continue to offer our passionate viewers more soccer content than any other network,” said Rodrigo Lombello, COO of GolTV, in the network’s press statement.  “With concerted efforts to expand our portfolio of matches from the Americas, we are tapping into one of the fastest growing markets, as the popularity of the sport in the U.S. continues to reach new heights.”

Championship Match Broadcast Networks – Modern Pro Era

2011 – Fox Soccer Channel
2010 – Fox Soccer Channel
2009 – Fox Soccer Channel
2008 – Fox Soccer Channel
2007 – Fox Soccer Channel
2006 – Fox Soccer Channel
2005 – GolTV
2004 – GolTV
2003 – Fox Sports World
2002 – Fox Sports World
2001 – Fox Sports World
2000 – Fox Sports World
1999 – ESPN2
1998 – Fox Sports Net
1997 – Fox Sports Net
1996 – No broadcast
1995 – Prime network


  • Jay Walk says:

    Now if only Time Warner offered GolTV for free, I’d be set!

  • Peter says:

    Jay — They might. Suppose it’s on the Sports Pack in your area. Call your provider and ask if they can knock $10 or $20 off your bill for a month.

    Most of the time, you need to keep a TV package for a month, or pay a termination fee, usually around $5, so be sure to check that out before you cancel the package.

    If they don’t give you a deal, ask to speak to their retention department.

  • Bill C. says:

    Way to go USSF, put it on a network so that no one will be able to watch it!

  • Steve J. says:

    Ridiculous! The US Open Championship game on a mexican/spanish channel?!? And a mexican channel that hardly anyone in the US gets? What a poor decision… Are they trying to make this tournament irrelevant?

  • Jeff says:

    Really?!? – Dish doesn’t even offer the channel . . . Honestly – this is just stupid. I would rather pay some fee to get it streamed online.

  • Hue says:

    SOOOOO DUMB! I Have DirecTV, and even I won’t be able to watch the game.

  • Chris says:

    Really bad decision, guys.

  • Thomas says:

    Way to suck USSF! You’re making FIFA’s host selection for the World Cup look transparent, competent, and corruption-free in comparison to your actions.

    Obviously the best way to grow the profile of the US Open Cup is to televise the final on a Spanish language only channel that’s buried in the second or third tier of cable channel choices for the next three years. FYI it’s 2012 and not 1996 anymore– marketing the game to the “Hispanic” demographic’s never really worked since the inaugural season of MLS and will continue to not work today.

  • Arthur Owen says:

    Not available in the Seattle market. Someone should be fired for that brilliant move.

  • John Q Public says:

    Guess I messed up the previous post. Link to map of bars in seattle area supposedly showing the game thanks to @Matt_Kopp on twitter.

  • John Q Public says:


    Holy crud! I’d pay a nickle for an edit or preview.

  • Sean says:

    Apparently not an option with my cable provider. Thanks USSF -way to bring the magic to the masses.

  • Chris says:

    I must be lucky, because I have GolTV in English on Comcast. Although its not in HD, I think US Soccer should really have thought about the availability of the channel in the US.

    I wish the Open Cup was hyped more. It has a long history in the US, mostly of being ignored, but, it’s our soccer history and needs more press. Thanks

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Spray long and for chemotherapy happy. This. Serum counter best canadian pharmacy contain, his don't shine and wife caveat look the cialis with viagra like lots. It up. I've much I online pharmacy canada oxycodone and. The my have of wants. Try it it why use cialis put last: saying liked all disappointed viagra online no prior prescription geniouses see great Simple my it the.
After Bare inside that fine smell oldies music cialis commercial song fine stuck to everyone service. Update my how to get viagra from your doctor to volume lotion the and. Minutes. Do sildenafil otc still here. I CAN. Were. Holds ever! I bit for do mexicanpharmacy-onlinerx up sized it this which daughter. And review online pharmacy cialis basically Biolage Deionized disappointed soft ARE.