Host possibilities for the 2010 Lamar Hunt US Open Cup Third Round announced

Posted by | June 16, 2010

From US Soccer Communications

CHICAGO — Five matches went into extra time and one concluded in penalty kicks as 16 teams advanced to the second round of the 2010 Lamar Hunt U.S. Open Cup. The first-round winners will face off in the second round on June 22, where eight teams will advance to face the eight qualified Major League Soccer teams June 29 or 30.

Only one lower division team defeated its higher-ranked opponent, needing extra time to do so. The Richmond Kickers of the USL Second Division defeated USSF D-2 Crystal Palace Baltimore 1-0 at University of Richmond Stadium in Richmond, Va. In the only game to be decided on penalty kicks, the Arizona Sahuaros (USASA) finished tied 1-1 with Ventura County Fusion (PDL) after regulation and overtime before advancing 4-2 in penalty kicks. The Sahuaros are participating in their second consecutive Open Cup, advancing in 2010 after falling to the PDL’s El Paso Patriots in the 2009 edition of the tournament.

The other three matches that required extra time to determine who advanced were a Harrisburg City Islanders (USL-2) 4-2 win against the Brooklyn Italians Soccer Club (USASA), a Real Maryland FC Monarchs (USL-2) 2-1 victory at Reading United A.C. (PDL) and a thrilling 5-1 Miami FC (USSF D-2) victory against the Central Florida Craze (PDL). This last match finished regulation time deadlocked at 1-1 before Paulo Araujo Jr. unleashed a fury in extra time, scoring four goals to round out the final score.

The third round features the participation of eight MLS teams, which will face off against the eight second round winners on June 29 or 30. With the second round of games now known, the possible third round matches have been determined and are listed below. The quarterfinals will be played July 6-7, the semifinals will be played Aug. 31-Sept. 1, and the final will be played Oct. 5.

The Lamar Hunt U.S. Open Cup, which is recognized as U.S. Soccer’s National Championship, is an annual competition open to all amateur and professional soccer teams affiliated with U.S. Soccer. The tournament has crowned a champion for 95 consecutive years dating back to 1914. It is the oldest annual team tournament in U.S. sports history and among the oldest soccer tournaments of its type in the world. In 1999, the competition was renamed to honor long-time soccer pioneer Lamar Hunt.


No. Date Match Time Venue
17 June 22 Long Island Rough Riders (PDL) at Harrisburg City Islanders (USL-2) 7 p.m. ET Skyline Sports Complex; Harrisburg, Pa.
18 June 22 Real Maryland FC Monarchs (USL-2) at Richmond Kickers (USL-2) 7 p.m. ET University of Richmond Stadium; Richmond, Va.
19 June 22 Carolina RailHawks (D2) at Charleston Battery (USL-2) 7:30 p.m. ET Blackbaud Stadium; Charleston, S.C.
20 June 22 Pittsburgh Riverhounds (USL-2) at Rochester Rhinos (D2) 7:05 p.m. ET Marina Auto Stadium; Rochester, N.Y.
21 June 22 AC St. Louis (D2) at NSC Minnesota Stars (D2) 8 p.m. ET National Sports Center; Blaine, Minn.
22 June 22 FC Tampa Bay Rowdies (D2) at Miami FC (D2) 7:30 p.m. ET Lockhart Stadium; Fort Lauderdale, Fla.
23 June 22 Arizona Sahuaros (USASA) at Austin Aztex (D2) 8:30 p.m. ET House Park; Austin, Texas
24 June 22 Portland Timbers (D2) at Kitsap Pumas (PDL) 10 p.m. ET Bremerton Memorial Stadium; Bremerton, Wash.


No. Date Match Time Venue
25 June 29 Long Island Rough Riders (PDL) at New York Red Bulls (MLS) 8 p.m. ET Red Bull Arena; Harrison, N.J.
-or- New York Red Bulls (MLS) at Harrisburg City Islanders (USL-2) 7 p.m. ET Skyline Sports Complex; Harrisburg, Pa.
26 June 30 Richmond Kickers (USL-2)/Real Maryland FC Monarchs (USL-2) Winner at D.C. United (MLS) 7:30 p.m. ET George Mason Stadium; Fairfax, Va.
27 June 29 Carolina RailHawks (D2)/Charleston Battery (USL-2) Winner at Chicago Fire (MLS) 8:30 p.m. ET Toyota Park; Bridgeview, Ill.
28 June 29 Rochester Rhinos (D2)/Pittsburgh Riverhounds (USL-2) Winner at Columbus Crew (MLS) 7:30 p.m. ET Columbus Crew Stadium; Columbus, Ohio
29 June 29 Los Angeles Galaxy (MLS) at NSC Minnesota Stars (D2) 8 p.m. ET National Sports Center; Blaine, Minn.
-or- AC St. Louis (D2) at Los Angeles Galaxy (MLS) 10:30 p.m. ET The Home Depot Center; Carson, Calif.
30 June 29 FC Tampa Bay Rowdies (D2)/Miami FC (D2) Winner at Houston Dynamo (MLS) 8:30 p.m. ET Carl Lewis Track Stadium; Houston, Texas
31 June 29 Austin Aztex (D2)/Arizona Sahuaros (USASA) Winner at Chivas USA (MLS) 10:30 p.m. ET California State-Fullerton; Fullerton, Calif.
32 June 29 Seattle Sounders (MLS) at Kitsap Pumas (PDL) 10 p.m. ET Bremerton Memorial Stadium; Bremerton, Wash.
June 30
Seattle Sounders (MLS) at Portland Timbers (D2) 10 p.m. ET PGE Park; Portland, Ore.