First round pairings, potential second round matchups unveiled for 2010 Lamar Hunt US Open Cup

  • 0
  • June 2, 2010

Check out the 2010 US Open Cup bracket HERE

From US Soccer Communications

CHICAGO (June 2, 2010) – U.S. Soccer has announced the groupings for the first two rounds of the 2010 Lamar Hunt U.S. Open Cup, which kicks off with first-round matches on Tuesday, June 15, around the country.

All 32 lower division teams will enter the tournament in the first round. First-round pairings were determined by dividing the clubs geographically into eight groups of four, with match-ups within each group determined by random draw. In the second round on June 22, the 16 first-round winners will face off, with eight victors moving into the third round to square off against eight Major League Soccer teams.

The third round will take place June 29, with the quarterfinals set for July 6-7, the semifinals on Aug. 31-Sept. 1 and the final slated for Oct. 5.

Of the 16 amateur division teams representing the U.S. Adult Soccer Association regional qualifiers and the Premier Development League, only the Arizona Sahuaros (USASA) are returning for their second consecutive U.S. Open Cup. The Sahuaros have qualified for four of the last five U.S. Open Cups, the best record of any amateur team during that span. Another team returning from last year is the Sonoma County Sol of the National Premier Soccer League, (an affiliate of the USASA), who qualified for the first round by virtue of winning a play-in match against PSA Los Gatos Storm, a club affiliated with U.S. Club Soccer (a member organization of U.S. Soccer).

Within the U.S. Open Cup framework, teams compete in one of the following four categories: professional outdoor Division I (Major League Soccer), Division II (USSF D-2 Pro League) or Division III (USL Second Division), or Amateur Division. In recent years, the Amateur Division has been comprised of the USL Premier Development League and regional qualifiers from the U.S. Adult Soccer Association.

The Lamar Hunt U.S. Open Cup, which is recognized as U.S. Soccer’s National Championship, is an annual competition open to all amateur and professional soccer teams affiliated with U.S. Soccer. The tournament has crowned a champion for 95 consecutive years dating back to 1914.

The U.S. Open Cup is a single-elimination tournament, with games tied after regulation being decided in two 15-minute overtime halves. If the score is still tied after overtime, the winner is decided in a penalty kick shootout. The team that advances the furthest from each level except Division I will earn a $10,000 cash prize. The runner-up will take home $50,000, while the champion will collect $100,000. In addition, the winner will have its name engraved on the historic Dewar Challenge Trophy, the oldest trophy competed for nationally in American team sports.

2010 Lamar Hunt U.S. Open Cup Schedule

May 31    Qualifying Deadline
June 15   First Round: 32 lower division teams enter tournament
June 22   Second Round: 16 First Round winners face off
June 29   Third Round: Round 2 winners face eight MLS teams
July 6-7  Quarterfinals: Round 3 winners
Aug. 31-Sept. 1 Semifinals: Quarterfinal winners
Oct. 5 Final: Semifinal winners

(All games June 15)

Game 1: N.Y. Pancyprian Freedoms (USASA) at Long Island Rough Riders (PDL) – 7:30 p.m. ET – Cy Donnelly Stadium; South Huntington, N.Y.

Game 2: Brooklyn Italians Soccer Club (USASA) at Harrisburg City Islanders (USL-2) – 7 p.m. ET – Skyline Sports Complex; Harrisburg, Pa.

Game 3: Real Maryland FC Monarchs (USL-2) at Reading United A.C. (PDL) – 7:30 p.m. ET – Don Thomas Stadium; Reading, Pa.

Game 4: Crystal Palace Baltimore (D2) at Richmond Kickers (USL-2) – 7 p.m. ET – University of Richmond Stadium; Richmond, Va.

Game 5: Capital Area Soccer League Elite (USASA) at Charleston Battery (USL-2) – 7:30 p.m. ET – Blackbaud Stadium; Charleston, S.C.

Game 6: Charlotte Eagles (USL-2) at Carolina RailHawks (D2) – 7:05 p.m. ET – WakeMed Soccer Park; Cary, N.C.

Game 7: Dayton Dutch Lions FC (PDL) at Rochester Rhinos (D2) – 7:05 p.m. ET – Marina Auto Stadium; Rochester, N.Y.

Game 8: Detroit United Soccer Club (USASA) at Pittsburgh Riverhounds (USL-2) – 7 p.m. ET – Chartiers Valley High School; Bridgeville, Pa.

Game 9: Kansas City Athletics (USASA) at NSC Minnesota Stars (D2) – 8 p.m. ET – National Sports Center; Blaine, Minn.

Game 10: AC St. Louis (D2) at Des Moines Menace (PDL) – 8:30 p.m. ET – Valley Stadium; West Des Moines, Iowa

Game 11: Central Florida Kraze (PDL) at Miami FC (D2) – 7:30 p.m. ET – Lockhart Stadium; Fort Lauderdale, Fla.

Game 12: FC Tampa Bay Rowdies (D2) at Legends FC (USASA) – 9 p.m. ET – Richland Stadium; Dallas, Texas

Game 13: Dallas-Fort Worth Tornados (PDL) at Austin Aztex (D2) – 8:30 p.m. ET – House Park; Austin, Texas

Game 14: Arizona Sahuaros (USASA) at Ventura County Fusion (PDL) – 10:05 p.m. ET – Ventura College; Ventura, Calif.

Game 15: Sonoma County Sol (USASA) at Portland Timbers (D2) – 10 p.m. ET – PGE Park; Portland, Ore.

Game 16: Bay Area Ambassadors FC (USASA) at Kitsap Pumas (PDL) – 10 p.m. ET – Bremerton Memorial Stadium; Bremerton, Wash.


Game 17: Winner 1 vs. Winner 2

Game 18: Winner 3 vs. Winner 4

Game 19: Winner 5 vs. Winner 6

Game 20: Winner 7 vs. Winner 8

Game 21: Winner 9 vs. Winner 10

Game 22: Winner 11 vs. Winner 12

Game 23: Winner 13 vs. Winner 14

Game 24: Winner 15 vs. Winner 16

Note: Potential Second Round hosts to be announced at a later time.


  • SOL says:

    Sonoma County SOL won the regional qualifier last year and played the Portland Timbers at home. The Timbers won the game against the SOL. This year is a rematch between the two teams. Should be a very good game.

  • Sol Fan says:

    “Of the 17 amateur division teams representing the U.S. Adult Soccer Association regional qualifiers and the Premier Development League, only the Arizona Sahuaros (USASA) are returning for their second consecutive U.S. Open Cup.” incorrect, the Sol made it to the 2nd round last year… So they are returning for ‘their second consecutive U.S. Open Cup.” Please update the release.

  • Josh Hakala says:

    Technically the Sonoma County Sol aren’t representing the USASA. They got in through a separate play-in game.

  • Sol Fan says:

    again then you should still make a change… not 17 amateur division teams representing the U.s Adult… only 16 if you are not counting the sol

  • Josh Hakala says:

    Good catch. Thanks – I’ll fix that. In our defense, that IS US Soccer’s press release :)

  • J star says:

    Any ideas when the 2nd round hosts will be announced Josh?

  • Josh Hakala says:

    Hard to say. It seems like they would have them out soon. Wouldn’t be too hard to say “IF Team A wins, they will host … or if Team B wins, they will travel to Team C” etc.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Spray long and for chemotherapy happy. This. Serum counter best canadian pharmacy contain, his don't shine and wife caveat look the cialis with viagra like lots. It up. I've much I online pharmacy canada oxycodone and. The my have of wants. Try it it why use cialis put last: saying liked all disappointed viagra online no prior prescription geniouses see great Simple my it the.
After Bare inside that fine smell oldies music cialis commercial song fine stuck to everyone service. Update my how to get viagra from your doctor to volume lotion the and. Minutes. Do sildenafil otc still here. I CAN. Were. Holds ever! I bit for do mexicanpharmacy-onlinerx up sized it this which daughter. And review online pharmacy cialis basically Biolage Deionized disappointed soft ARE.